In today’s episode of “meet the Londoner” we catch up with a canine celebrity that I have been following on Instagram for a long time. Please welcome gorgeous Mildred the Sausage.

Dear Mildred, please tell us a bit about yourself

What’s your breed?

Miniature black and tan dachshund

How old are you?

4

Where in London do you live?

Greenwich, south east London

Which are the things you do on a perfect day?

Play fetch in the park and then go to the pub with my mums. Currently, play fetch on a smaller patch of grass near our house and then retreat to the sofa for a socially distanced Netflix binge.

When did you start your internet career?

When I was six months old.

Where do you go to meet new friends?

We met most of my best friends via Instagram – people relatively local to us who my mums got on with and then decided to meet in real life at the park.

Who enjoys dressing you up more? Your mummies or yourself?

Mummies definitely. I have a flair for the dramatic and I pretend to protest every time they put my school jumper on, even though I actually enjoy wearing it because it keeps me warm in the winter.

What’s your favourite game?

Sleeping / begging for cheese

Do you enjoy being recognized on the streets?

When people recognise me they are always smiling and excited to see me; it’s lovely that I can make them happy.

Who is your favourite friend? Is George still your boyfriend?

My best friend at school is a brown sausage called Loki. He’s the only one who can keep up with me for zoomies (I’m very fast). George is my boyfriend of 3 years and, though we are in a long distance relationship, I still get hysterically squeaky and happy when I see him face to face.

Tell us a bit about the Sausage Walk

The giant sausage walk no longer takes place as mummies have full time City jobs and it unintentionally turned into a massive event that went viral. We do meet ups now from time to time like Dogs at Pride where we had a party at Brewdog Soho to coincide with London Pride. These are more intimate and a great way of pawrents getting to know one another while we doggies can more easily play. We have also teamed up when professional event organisers say they’d like to include a sausage dog parade as part of an event, such as when the Smithfield 150 celebrations took place at the famous meat market. Don’t worry – they didn’t turn us into sausage meat.

How many dogs joined last time?

An estimated, and unexpected, 1000 dachshunds joined the last big park walk. Dogs at Pride had about 80 of us.

Are non-dog owners allowed to join?

Upon invitation to our smaller events, yes.

Do you plan another Dogs at Pride party this year?

Afraid not – Coronavirus scuppered all plans!

Mildred on London

What’s a must-see sight in London?

The view of Tower Bridge from More London (just next to London Bridge Station)

3 words to describe London

Lots of people

Dog-friendliest area of London?

Greenwich for sure!

How easy is using the tube for a sausage dog? Do you have to pay for it?

As long as your dog isn’t socially anxious or freaked out by transport and noises, getting the tube around London is super easy because sausage dogs are so portable and light enough to carry on escalators or if you can’t get a seat (RUDE!) There is no cost for dogs. I’ve been getting the tube since I was a little puppy so really enjoy it and the attention I get.

Which restaurant is dog-friendly?

There are many dog friendly restaurants in London. M Restaurants are a lovely chain if you want to mark a special celebration, Pastaio off Carnaby Street does brilliant pasta and will tolerate noisy children and welcome well-behaved pooches following a trip to Liberty’s which is closeby, and all branches of Brewdog serve dog beer, in addition to special brews for humans and several vegetarian food options. Also, you can find the best cakes in the world at Flavourtown Bakery on the Fulham Road. Freshly baked in store and they are gorgeous as well as delicious.

Your favourite shop?

Amazon. Shopping in London is horrible!

And a pub you enjoy visiting?

The Prince of Greenwich that I mentioned is a pub, come Italian restaurant (the best fresh pasta and pizza outside Italy says mum) come mini museum. They have live music at the weekends and neighbourhood dogs often sing along.

Questions for mums

Hi Catherine and Grace

How dog-friendly is London?

In certain pockets, especially south London, our city is small dog friendly. I think we’d struggle with a larger dog due to logistics of getting around on public transport (it’s not exactly roomy). We have to carry Mildred if there’s a crowd as she’s so small that people often don’t see her. We definitely had to change our lifestyle significantly when we got her and plan ahead when going out to new places.

Does Mildred have to walk on the lead all the time?

When on the pavement, dogs must be on a lead at all times. In the park she can be let off lead. For the most part, Mildred has excellent recall and sticks closeby. The exception is when she raids someone’s picnic or sees a squirrel. She’s partial to Parma ham.

Does Mildred always accompany you? If not, where do you go without her?

Mildred doesn’t always come out with us. We work full time so she goes to daycare and hangs out with her friends. On the weekends we are pretty much always together. Greenwich, where we live, is really beautiful with plenty of things to do so we rarely need to stray far from home, or leave Mildred alone for that long. Greenwich market has lots of lovely artisan stalls, there are boutiques and art shops around to peruse, the Greenwich observatory has the most amazing view, and the world famous Cutty Sark tea clipper is stationed here and now a museum. If you like boats, there is a rich naval history in Greenwich so while it’s not our usual adventure, the tourists flock here to visit the sights.

Where do you go for a nice dinner?

We don’t eat out so much in London, sorry! Nice special evenings for us usually involve a quick pre theatre meal in one of the many restaurants in Covent Garden and a trip to the theatre in the West End. Both of us love musicals and we have world-class performers on our doorstep. Obviously Mildred stays home, but she enjoys our reenactments of musicals at home too.

Mildred the sausage on social media

Follow Mildred’s adventures on Instagram (@mildredthesausage) or Facebook (@mildredthesausage) and stay updated on new outfits and activities.

Dear Mildred, a big thank you to you and your mums for taking the time for this interview. I loved getting insights into your life and the recommendations for restaurants will be tested very soon.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Meet the Londoner heute mit einer tierischen Persönlichkeit, der ich schon lange auf Instagram folge. Vorhang auf für die süße Mildred the Sausage.

Liebe Mildred, erzähl’ doch ein wenig über dich

Was für eine Rasse bist du?

Ein Miniatur schwarz brauner Dackel

Wie alt bist du?

4

Wo in London wohnst du?

In Greenwich, im Südosten von London

Was machst du an einem perfekten Tag?

Ich spiele fangen im Park und gehe dann mit meinen Mums ins Pub. Derzeit spielen wir fangen auf einem kleineren Stück Rasen nahe unserem Haus und dann hängen wir auf dem Sofa für ein social distancing Netflix Gelage ab.

Wann hast du deine Internet Karriere gestartet?

Als ich sechs Monate alt war.

Wo triffst du neue Freunde?

Wir haben die meisten meiner besten Freunde via Instagram kennengelernt – Menschen, die in unserer Nähe wohnen und die meine Mütter leiden konnten und dann haben sie beschlossen, dass wir uns mal im echten Leben treffen.

Wem gefällt es mehr, dich anzuziehen bzw. zu verkleiden? Deinen Mamas oder dir?

Meinen Mamas, ganz klar. Ich habe einen Hang zum Dramatischen und tue jedes Mal so, als ob ich protestiere, wenn sie mir meinen Schulpulli anziehen, dabei gefällt er mir eigentlich ganz gut, denn er hält mich warm im Winter.

Was ist dein Lieblingsspiel?

Schlafen/um Käse betteln

Gefällt es dir, wenn du auf der Straße erkannt wirst?

Wenn mich die Menschen erkennen, dann lachen sie immer und sind ganz aufgeregt mich zu sehen; es ist schön, dass ich sie glücklich machen kann.

Wer ist dein bester Freund? Ist George immer noch dein Boyfriend?

Mein bester Freund in der Schule ist ein brauner Dackel namens Loki. Er ist der einzige, der beim Zoomies (das ist, wenn Hund voller Energie im Kreis rennen) mit mir mithalten kann (ich bin sehr schnell). George ist seit 3 Jahren mein Boyfriend und auch wenn wir in einer Fernbeziehung sind, quietsche ich immer hysterisch und bin glücklich, wenn ich in echt sehe.

Der Sausage Walk

Der “giant sausage walk” findet nicht mehr statt, da meine Mamas Vollzeitjobs in der City haben und weil unbeachtsicht ein massives Event draus wurde, das viral gegangen ist. Ab und zu machen wir Meet Ups wie “Dogs at Pride”. Da hatten wir eine Party bei Brewdog Soho, die gleichzeitig mit Pride stattgefunden hat. Das sind persönlichere Treffen und eine gute Gelegenheit, für unsere “pawrents” sich besser kennenzulernen, während wir Hunde spielen. Wir haben auch schon was organisiert als professionelle Eventorganisatoren gesagt haben, dass sie gerne eine Dackelparade als Teil eines Events hätten. So z.B. als die Smithfield 150 Feierlichkeiten am berühmten Fleischmarkt stattgefunden haben. Keine Sorge – sie haben uns nicht in Wurst verwandelt.

Wie viele Hunde haben beim letzten Sausage Walk teilgenommen?

Geschätzte und völlig unerwartete 1000 Dackel waren beim letzten Spaziergang dabei. Bei Dogs at Pride waren wir ca. 80.

Sind Nicht-Hundebesitzer auch erlaubt?

Auf Einladung zu kleineren Events, ja.

Plant ihr für dieses Jahr wieder eine Dogs at Pride Party?

Leider nein, dank Corona Virus sind alle Pläne vernichtet.

Mildred über London

Was muss man in London unbedingt gesehen haben?

Der Blick auf die Tower Bridge von More London aus (das ist neben der London Bridge Station).

3 Wörter, um London zu beschreiben?

Sehr viele Menschen

Hundefreundlichste Gegend?

Ganz klar Greenwich!

Wie einfach ist es mit der Tube zu fahren? Musst du was zahlen?

Solange dein Hund nicht sehr nervös ist oder durch den Verkehr oder die Geräusche ausflippt, ist das Umherfahren in London super einfach. Gerade weil Dackel gut tragbar und leicht sind, damit kann man uns auf den Rolltreppen oder wenn man keinen Sitzplatz angeboten bekommt (UNHÖFLICH!), einfach tragen. Hunde müssen nichts zahlen. Ich nutze die Tube bereits seit ich Welpe bin. Ich mag es sehr, vor allem die Aufmerksamkeiten, die ich bekomme.

Welches Restaurant ist hundefreundlich?

Es gibt viele hundefreundliche Restaurants in London. M Restaurants sind eine schöne Kette, wenn man was Besonderes zu feiern hat. Pastaio nahe der Carnaby Street macht großartige Pasta, toleriert laute Kinder und heißt gut erzogene Hunde willkommen. Alle Zweigstellen von Brewdog servieren Hundebier, zusätzlich zu besonderen Gebräuen für Menschen und es gibt vegetarisches Essen. Und die besten Kuchen auf der ganzen Welt gibt es in der Flavourtown Bakery in der Fulham Road. Frisch im Shop gebacken sind sie einfach wunderschön und köstlich.

Was ist dein Lieblingsshop?

Amazon. Shopping in London ist furchtbar!

Ein Pub wo du gerne hingehst?

The Prince of Greenwich ist ein Pub mit italienischem Restaurant (die beste frische Pasta und Pizza außerhalb Italiens sagt Mama) und einem Minimuseum. Sie haben live Musik am Wochenende und die Nachbarshunde singen oft mit.

Fragen an die Hunde-Mamas

Hi Catherine und Grace

Wie hundefreundlich ist London?

In bestimmten Bereichen, besonders in Süd London, ist unsere Stadt weniger hundefreundlich. Ich glaube mit einem größeren Hund hätten wir logistische Probleme, da wir mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln unterwegs sind (und da ist nicht viel Platz). Wir müssen Mildred oft tragen, wenn es voll wird, da sie so klein ist, dass die Leute sie übersehen. Wir mussten unseren Lebensstil drastisch ändern als wir sie bekommen haben und planen voraus, wenn wir zu neuen Orten fahren.

Muss Mildred die ganze Zeit an der Leine gehen?

Auf dem Bürgersteig müssen Hunde jederzeit an der Leine sein. Im Park kann sie ohne Leine laufen. Meistens lässt sich Mildred gut abrufen und bleibt in unserer Nähe. Die Ausnahmen sind, wenn sie das Picknick von jemand anderem überfallen will oder wenn sie ein Eichhörnchen sieht. Sie hat eine Vorliebe für Parmaschinken.

Begleitet euch Mildred immer? Wenn nein, wohin geht ihr ohne sie?

Mildred kommt nicht immer mit uns. Wir arbeiten beide in Vollzeit, also geht sie in die Tagespflege und hängt dort mit ihren Freunden ab. An den Wochenenden sind wir nahezu die ganze Zeit zusammen. Greenwich, wo wir leben, ist wirklich hübsch, mit vielen Dingen, die man unternehmen kann. Wir müssen uns nie weit von Zuhause entfernen oder Mildred lange allein lassen. Der Greenwich Market hat viele Künstlerstände, dort sind Boutiquen und Kunstshops, das Greenwich Observatory hat den besten Ausblick und auch der weltbekannte Teeklipper Cutty Sark ist hier und ist mittlerweile ein Museum. Wenn man Boote mag, es gibt eine lange Marinegeschichte in Greenwich. Und auch wenn es nicht immer unser Ding ist, die Touristen kommen in Massen, um die Sehenswürdigkeiten zu besichtigen.

Wohin geht ihr für ein leckeres Abendessen?

Wir essen nicht oft auswärts in London, sorry! Besondere Anlässe bedeuten bei uns meistens ein schnelles Essen vor dem Theater in einem der vielen Restaurants in Covent Garden und dann ein Theaterstück im West End. Wir beide lieben Musicals. Mildred bleibt in dieser Zeit natürlich zuhause, aber sie hat auch viel Spaß an unseren Musical Nachstellungen.

Mildred the Sausage in Social Media

Du kannst Mildreds Abenteuern auf Instagram (@mildredthesausage) folgen, wo sie regelmäßig von ihren Aktivitäten und neuen Outfits berichtet. Auch auf Facebook ist sie vertreten (@mildredthesausage).

Liebe Mildred, dir und deinen Mamas ein herzliches Dankeschön für das Interview. Wie spannend Einblicke in dein Dackelleben zu bekommen und die vielen Empfehlungen zu London werden wir gleich mal testen.

 

This post is also available in: English